Some links on our site may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
Published October 25, 2026. Prices and specs checked October 18, 2026.
The best home fire extinguisher for most households is the Kidde Basic 110 FA110G, listed at $29.99 at firealarm.com. It is rated UL 1-A:10-B:C, weighs 3.9 pounds, and has a painted metal handle and a strap bracket. The First Alert Rechargeable Home FE1A10GR carries the same rating and adds a color-coded gauge at 5.4 pounds. It is $27.99 at First Alert’s own store, where one red version (SKU 1038789) was in stock and the other variants were sold out. For a barn or a big shop, the First Alert Heavy Duty Plus FE3A40GR steps up to 3-A:40-B:C at $64.49, if you can handle 10.2 pounds. Kidde’s Kitchen RESSP and Pro 210 were backordered at firealarm.com, so neither is a pick.
I spent my summers on a Midwest farm, where the extinguisher hung on the shop wall by the door, and the habit stuck. Whenever I walk past one now, I look at the gauge needle and check that the bracket is tight. That is also the first spot I plan for in any garage organization plan. So a readable gauge and a real bracket are two of the five dealbreakers below.
Quick picks by need
- Kitchen, hallway or basement stairs: Kidde Basic 110 FA110G — $29.99, 1-A:10-B:C, 3.9 lb
- Same rating with a gauge you can read: First Alert Rechargeable Home FE1A10GR — $27.99, 5.4 lb
- Garage, barn or shop, only if you can handle the weight: First Alert Heavy Duty Plus FE3A40GR — $64.49, 3-A:40-B:C, 10.2 lb
Which home fire extinguishers survive every dealbreaker?
Five things knock an extinguisher out before price matters. They are the wrong class for the room, a plastic handle or recall history, no gauge, too much weight, and no mounting bracket. Three models in stock were left standing on the day I checked. Each section below names which ones survive that dealbreaker.
| Model | UL rating | Total weight | Handle | Gauge | Bracket | Price and where read |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kidde Basic 110 FA110G | 1-A:10-B:C | 3.9 lb | Painted metal (Kidde) | Not described on Kidde’s page; check the unit | UL-approved strap bracket | $29.99, firealarm.com, limited stock |
| First Alert Rechargeable Home FE1A10GR | 1-A:10-B:C | 5.4 lb | Metal valve and trigger; handle not stated | Color-coded gauge | Mounting bracket included | $27.99, First Alert store, add to cart |
| First Alert Heavy Duty Plus FE3A40GR | 3-A:40-B:C | 10.2 lb | Not stated | Color-coded, corrosion-resistant | Heavy-duty wall bracket included | $64.49, First Alert store, one variant listed available |
Prices and specs come from pages I read on October 18, 2026. Prices: firealarm.com for the FA110G, and First Alert’s store for the two First Alert models. Specs: Kidde’s FA110 page, First Alert’s product pages, plus BRK Electronics’ page for the First Alert metal valve. This is shopping help, not fire-safety training. Follow the label on the unit and ask your local fire department about training and placement.
Can a kitchen grease fire be put out with an extinguisher?
Sometimes, but a pan lid is the first tool. NFPA’s cooking guidance says to keep a lid nearby. Slide it over the burning pan, turn off the burner and leave the pan covered until it cools. Never throw water on the fire. If it does not go out, or you are not comfortable sliding the lid, NFPA says to get everyone out and call from outside.

Class matters here. The Red Cross recommends an extinguisher rated A-B-C for home use. USFA says Class B covers grease, gasoline and oil. Class K covers vegetable oils and animal fats in cooking appliances, and USFA says it is usually found in commercial kitchens. So the wrong class for a kitchen is any extinguisher with no B rating. All three survivors carry a B rating and a C, which USFA says covers appliances, tools and other equipment plugged into an outlet.
Kidde’s Kitchen RESSP is the obvious kitchen model, and Kidde’s page lists it at UL 711A with 12 years of service-free life. However, firealarm.com shows it at $31.49 as out of stock and on backorder, so it is not a pick today. First Alert’s collection page lists a Kitchen KFE2S5 rated 5-B:C with no price or add-to-cart button on the day I looked. Skip both until a retailer shows stock. NFPA research for 2020 to 2024 puts ranges or cooktops at 51% of home cooking fire incidents. That is why the kitchen row matters.
Survives the kitchen dealbreaker: Kidde Basic 110 FA110G and First Alert Rechargeable Home FE1A10GR, because both carry A-B-C ratings and are light enough to hang by a kitchen exit.
Does your home fire extinguisher fall under the Kidde recall?
It does if it is one of the plastic-handle or push-button Kidde models named in CPSC recall 18-022. CPSC’s page, dated November 2, 2017, covers about 37.8 million units in the United States. CPSC describes the hazard this way: the units can clog or need excessive force to discharge, and the nozzle can detach. Kidde knew of about 391 reports of failed or limited activation or nozzle detachment. CPSC also cites about 16 injuries and a 2014 death in a car fire.
The recall has two parts. CPSC lists 134 plastic-handle models made from January 1, 1973 to August 15, 2017. They were sold in red, white and silver, rated ABC or BC. It also lists eight push-button Pindicator models made from August 11, 1995 to September 22, 2017. Those are the KK2, 100D, 210D, M5P, M5PM, AUTO 5FX, AUTO 5FX-1 and FF 210D-1. CPSC says those were sold mainly for kitchen and personal watercraft use. The remedy is a free replacement through Kidde at 800-880-6788 or on kidde.com.

Which home fire extinguisher models are not covered by the recall?
Kidde’s own ID guide says a metal handle and a metal pull pin, in any style, mean the unit is not affected. Kidde’s page for the Basic 110 FA110G describes a metal valve and painted metal handles. The two First Alert models are a different maker, and recall 18-022 names only Kidde. CPSC does list an older First Alert recall from September 2000. It covers only model FE1A10G units whose serial numbers begin with RH, RK, RL, RP, RT, RU or RW, and the serial sits above the model number on the label. CPSC’s recall listing, which I read on October 18, shows no extinguisher recall after 18-022. Earlier entries cover Kidde in 2009 and 2015.
Even so, check the unit in your hand. CPSC says the model number is on the label. Units made from 2007 onward carry a 10-digit date code on the cylinder side near the bottom. A new unit should show a date later than the recall’s end dates. The First Alert pages do not state the handle material, so look at the handle and pin in the store.
Survives the recall dealbreaker: all three, once you confirm a metal handle, a metal pull pin and a post-2017 date code on the box in front of you.
Does the extinguisher have a readable gauge and a bracket?
A gauge is how you know the unit is charged. The Red Cross says to use the gauge or test button to check for proper pressure. It also says to replace or service a unit that is low, damaged or corroded. USFA adds that many extinguishers have gauges showing when pressure is too high or too low. First Alert’s pages describe a color-coded gauge on the FE1A10GR and a color-coded, corrosion-resistant gauge on the FE3A40GR.

Kidde’s current FA110 page does not describe the gauge. Confirm the pressure window on the shelf before you buy. Put it back if there is no gauge or the needle sits outside the green. That is the gauge dealbreaker in one line.
The bracket is the other half of that shop-wall habit. The Red Cross says to install extinguishers high on the wall, near an exit and away from heat sources. A bracket makes that possible. Kidde’s page for the FA110G lists a UL-approved strap bracket. First Alert’s FE1A10GR page says a mounting bracket is included, and the FE3A40GR page lists a heavy-duty wall bracket. Home Depot’s listing for an FA110G two-pack says screws and anchors are not included, so buy those too.
Survives the gauge and bracket dealbreakers: First Alert FE1A10GR and FE3A40GR outright. Kidde FA110G survives once you see the gauge on the unit.
Is the extinguisher too heavy to lift one-handed?
NFPA says to pick a multipurpose extinguisher that is large enough for a small fire but not hard to handle. USFA says to choose the largest unit a person can safely and comfortably operate. Those two lines are the whole weight rule. So hold the cylinder level in one hand at the store. If you cannot, the next size down is the right size for you, whatever the label says.

How do rating, weight and price compare?
The table below puts the rating against weight and price. USFA explains the label. The number before the A is a multiple of 1.25 gallons of water. The number before the B is the size in square feet of a Class B fire, so a 10-B rating means fires up to 10 square feet. I divided each B number by the total weight, and the price by the B number. Both are arithmetic on label figures. They are not a safety ranking. A bigger rating also means a heavier cylinder to lift.
| Model | Class A water equivalent | B number | Total weight | Price | B square feet per pound | Price per B square foot |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kidde Basic 110 FA110G | 1 × 1.25 = 1.25 gal | 10 | 3.9 lb | $29.99 | 10 ÷ 3.9 = 2.56 | $29.99 ÷ 10 = $3.00 |
| First Alert FE1A10GR | 1 × 1.25 = 1.25 gal | 10 | 5.4 lb | $27.99 | 10 ÷ 5.4 = 1.85 | $27.99 ÷ 10 = $2.80 |
| First Alert FE3A40GR | 3 × 1.25 = 3.75 gal | 40 | 10.2 lb | $64.49 | 40 ÷ 10.2 = 3.92 | $64.49 ÷ 40 = $1.61 |
Which weight suits which room?
Read it as a trade-off. The FE3A40GR gives the most rating per pound and per dollar. However, it is 10.2 pounds, so it belongs only where the person who reaches for it can hold that weight. The FA110G is the lightest at 3.9 pounds. The FE1A10GR sits between them at 5.4 pounds with the same 1-A:10-B:C rating as the Kidde. For a barn or farm shop, I would weigh the FE3A40GR. For a kitchen, I would not.
Survives the weight dealbreaker: Kidde FA110G (3.9 lb) and First Alert FE1A10GR (5.4 lb) for nearly anyone. First Alert FE3A40GR (10.2 lb) only if you can hold it level with one hand.
Where should a home fire extinguisher hang and how do you use it?
Near an exit, high on the wall and away from heat sources. That is the Red Cross wording. NFPA agrees on the exit: install extinguishers close to one, and keep your back to a clear exit when you use the device. NFPA 10 sets the formal installation rules. However, its placement fact sheet sits behind a download form, so its numbers are not in this guide. Ask your fire department for mounting heights. The table applies the sources I did read to each room.
| Room | Where it hangs | What the sources say | Survivor that fits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kitchen | Beside the kitchen’s exit route, not next to or over the range | Red Cross: near an exit, away from heat sources. NFPA: back to a clear exit | Kidde FA110G or First Alert FE1A10GR |
| Attached garage | By the door into the house or the main garage door | Same exit rule. USFA: Class B covers gasoline and oil | First Alert FE3A40GR if 10.2 lb is comfortable; otherwise the FE1A10GR |
| Farm shop or workshop | Beside the exit door, away from the bench and any heater | Red Cross: away from heat sources | First Alert FE3A40GR if you can hold 10.2 lb; otherwise the FE1A10GR |
| Basement or utility room | At the foot of the stairs or along the way out | USFA: Class C covers equipment plugged into an outlet | Any of the three, since all carry a C |
| Hallway by the bedrooms | Near the stairs or an exit door | NFPA: close to an exit. No per-floor count given, so ask the fire department | Kidde FA110G or First Alert FE1A10GR |
How do you use a home fire extinguisher with PASS?
Using one comes down to the word PASS, as NFPA, USFA and the Red Cross all put it. Pull the pin, holding the nozzle away from you. Aim low, at the base of the fire. Squeeze the lever slowly and evenly. Sweep the nozzle from side to side. The Red Cross says most portable extinguishers empty in about 8 seconds, so there is little time to read directions.
Know when not to. NFPA says to use an extinguisher only when the fire is small and not growing. Everyone must be out, the fire department called, and the room not filling with smoke. The Red Cross adds that if the fire does not immediately die down, drop the extinguisher and get out. A carbon monoxide alarm is a separate product, covered in our carbon monoxide detector guide.
What do people ask before buying a home fire extinguisher?
How long does a home fire extinguisher last?
It depends on the model, so follow the maker’s label. Kidde gives the FA110G a 6-year limited warranty. Home Depot’s listing says it is single-use and should be replaced after 12 years. First Alert gives the FE1A10GR a 10-year limited warranty. The Red Cross says to replace or service any unit that is low on pressure, damaged or corroded.
Do I need a home fire extinguisher if I have smoke alarms?
Smoke alarms and an escape plan come first. NFPA says a portable extinguisher is one element of a fire response plan. The primary element is safe escape, and every household should have working smoke alarms. An extinguisher is for a small, contained fire while others are leaving. It does not replace either.
Can a home fire extinguisher be recharged?
Some can. The Red Cross notes that many models are one-time use and cannot be recharged. First Alert says the FE1A10GR can be recharged by a certified professional if it is used. Kidde’s FA110G pages describe a single-use unit. Follow the maker’s instructions for recharging or replacing, and ask a local service company.
Should children learn to use an extinguisher?
No. NFPA believes children should not be trained to operate portable fire extinguishers. It runs against the message to get out and stay out. Children may not judge whether a fire is small enough or know what to do if it spreads. NFPA says only adults who know how to operate one should use it.
Which home fire extinguisher would I buy?
I would buy the Kidde Basic 110 FA110G at $29.99 for the kitchen-side wall. It is the lightest survivor at 3.9 pounds, rated 1-A:10-B:C, with a metal handle and a bracket in the box. I would confirm the gauge on the shelf first. If a readable gauge matters more than weight, the $27.99 First Alert FE1A10GR is the better choice. In the garage or shop, I would hang the First Alert FE3A40GR at $64.49, as long as the person reaching for it handles 10.2 pounds comfortably. Otherwise a second FE1A10GR does the job.
Wherever it goes, check the handle, pin, date code and gauge before it leaves the store. Then hang it by the door. Protecting papers as well? Our fireproof home safes guide covers that side. For more picks like these, browse Tools & Automotive. In a real fire, get out and call 911.
Prices are approximate, current as of publication, and change frequently — confirm the latest price with the retailer before buying.
Sources: CPSC recall 18-022, USFA on choosing and using extinguishers, NFPA fire extinguisher information and Red Cross fire safety equipment.

