Some links on our site may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
Published October 24, 2026. Prices and specs checked October 18, 2026.
The Cuisinart MultiClad Pro Triple Ply 16-Inch Roasting Pan with Rack is the stainless tri-ply roasting pan for a turkey up to 18 pounds, at $159.95. For a bigger bird, the All-Clad Stainless Steel Roasting Pan with Nonstick Rack holds up to 25 pounds per Sur La Table, at $149.96. Most kitchens will do fine with the Cuisinart 17 x 13 Nonstick Roaster with V-Rack, which lists a 20-pound ceiling for $59.95. The Granite Ware 18-Inch Oval Roaster, $49.20 at Target, is the cheapest and has no rack.
I grew up in a big extended family, and holiday dinners in South Florida meant a turkey big enough for a crowd. Those dinners taught me two things about roasting pans. The pan has to fit the bird and the oven at the same time, and the rack is the piece that goes missing between one year and the next. So each pick below gets a weight ceiling, a size and a rack note before the price comes up.
- Stainless tri-ply, up to 18 lb: Cuisinart MultiClad Pro Triple Ply 16-Inch Roasting Pan with Rack, $159.95 at Cuisinart
- Bird over 20 lb: All-Clad Stainless Steel Roasting Pan with Nonstick Rack, 16 x 13 inch, $149.96 at Sur La Table
- Most kitchens, up to 20 lb: Cuisinart 17 x 13 Nonstick Roaster with V-Rack, $59.95 at Cuisinart
- Cheapest, no rack: Granite Ware 18-Inch Oval Roaster with Cover, $49.20 at Target
Which roasting pan is best for a Thanksgiving turkey?
It depends on the weight of the bird, so start there. Six roasting pans were in stock on October 18. The table lists each with the turkey weight its maker states, the price, the build, the rack and the oven limit. Where a maker gave no weight, the cell says so.
| Roasting pan | Price and retailer | Maker turkey ceiling | Build | Rack | Oven limit on the page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cuisinart MultiClad Pro Triple Ply 16-Inch Roasting Pan with Rack (MCPS117-16BRP1) | $159.95 at Cuisinart | 18 lb | Triple-ply stainless with an aluminum core | Included | Not stated |
| All-Clad Stainless Steel Roasting Pan with Nonstick Rack, 16 x 13 inch | $149.96 at Sur La Table (bonus whisk included) | 25 lb | 18/10 stainless, bonded base | Removable V-shaped nonstick rack | 600°F |
| Calphalon Hard Anodized Nonstick Roaster with Rack, 16-inch | $114.99 at Target | None stated | Hard-anodized aluminum, nonstick | Included, material not stated | 450°F |
| Cuisinart 17 x 13 Nonstick Roaster with V-Rack (ASR-1713V) | $59.95 at Cuisinart | 20 lb | Heavy steel, nonstick | Removable nonstick V-rack | 400°F |
| Cuisinart Chef’s Classic Stainless Steel Roaster with Non-Stick Rack, 15-inch | $59.99 at Target (model 83117-15NSR); $69.95 at Cuisinart (7117-15NSR) | 16 lb | Stainless steel | Nonstick rack | 500°F pan, 400°F rack (Target) |
| Granite Ware 18-Inch Oval Roaster with Cover | $49.20 at Target | 18 lb open, 15 lb with the lid on | Carbon steel with porcelain enamel | None listed | Not stated |
Where did the prices and weight ceilings come from?
Here is where each figure came from. First, Cuisinart’s own store showed Add to Cart on the MultiClad, the 17 x 13 and the 15-inch roaster. Meanwhile, Sur La Table listed the All-Clad as in stock at $149.96 for the 16 x 13 size. Finally, Target listed the Calphalon, the Granite Ware and its own Cuisinart 15-inch model as In Stock. Also, the turkey ceilings come from Cuisinart’s product pages, Sur La Table’s All-Clad page and Target’s Granite Ware page.

Match the bird to the pan before you look at price. The USDA’s Let’s Talk Turkey roasting guide says to allow 1 pound of turkey per person. So a 16-pound bird feeds about 16 people and a 20-pound bird about 20. Take that weight to the third column, then check the size table below.
What size roasting pan fits a 20-pound turkey?
A pan of about 16 x 13 x 3 inches or larger. That is the minimum Anolon gives on its cookware support page for a turkey up to 20 pounds. The page lists three tiers. Birds up to 12 pounds: 14 x 10 x 2-3/4 inches. Then 15-3/4 x 12 x 3 inches for up to 16 pounds. Last, 16 x 13 x 3 inches for up to 20 pounds. Anolon also says it recommends turkeys no larger than 20 pounds for its standard roasters.
How do the listed sizes compare with the weight tiers?
The table sets each pick’s listed size against those tiers. These are the sizes listed on each product page: Cuisinart’s own store for its three pans, Sur La Table for the All-Clad, and Target for the Calphalon and the Granite Ware. They are not interior measurements, because none of these makers publishes interior floor dimensions. Target’s Cuisinart 15-inch listing shows how far apart those numbers can sit. It gives 17.7 x 12 inches overall, 18.5 inches handle to handle, and a 15-inch inner cooking surface.
| Roasting pan | Maker turkey ceiling | Size listed on the product page, L x W x H (inches, not interior) | Against the Anolon tiers | Price per ceiling pound |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cuisinart MultiClad Pro 16-inch | 18 lb | 19.3 x 12.1 x 5.2 | An 18-lb bird falls in the 20-lb tier (16 x 13). The listed 12.1 width is under 13. | $159.95 ÷ 18 = $8.89 |
| All-Clad 16 x 13 inch | 25 lb | 16 x 13 x 5 | Equals the 20-lb tier. Anolon lists nothing above 20 lb. | $149.96 ÷ 25 = $6.00 |
| Calphalon 16-inch roaster | None stated | 17.5 x 13.25 x 6.25 | Clears the 20-lb tier on length and width. | No maker weight, so no figure |
| Cuisinart 17 x 13 nonstick | 20 lb | 19.1 x 14.1 x 5.9 | Clears the 20-lb tier on length and width. | $59.95 ÷ 20 = $3.00 |
| Cuisinart Chef’s Classic 15-inch | 16 lb | 17.7 x 12 x 5.5 | Meets the 16-lb tier (15-3/4 x 12) on listed width. Target’s customer Q&A puts the interior near 15.25 x 10.5. | $59.99 ÷ 16 = $3.75 |
| Granite Ware 18-inch oval | 18 lb open, 15 lb lidded | 18 x 12.25 x 7.5 | Clears the 16-lb tier. The 12.25 width is under 13 for the 20-lb tier. | $49.20 ÷ 18 = $2.73 open; ÷ 15 = $3.28 lidded |
How is the price per ceiling pound worked out?
Price per pound is plain division of the price read on October 18 by the maker’s ceiling. For example, $149.96 for 25 pounds is $6.00 a pound, while $59.95 for 20 pounds is $3.00. The MultiClad comes to $8.89 a pound. Calphalon states no weight on its Target page, so that pick gets no figure.

Treat the ceiling as a limit. Turkeys of the same weight differ in shape. A wide-breasted 18-pound bird can crowd a pan that a long, narrow one clears. So if your turkey is within two or three pounds of the ceiling, I would size up.
Is a tri-ply stainless roasting pan worth the extra money?
Only if the pan will double as a stovetop gravy pan. The Cuisinart MultiClad Pro Triple Ply 16-Inch Roasting Pan with Rack costs $159.95 at Cuisinart. Its page describes a core of pure aluminum under a brushed stainless exterior. It also says the Heat Surround design spreads heat along the bottom and the sidewalls. The same page lists the pan as suitable for induction cooktops and recommends hand washing.
However, the price gap is real. Cuisinart’s Chef’s Classic Stainless 16-Inch Roasting Pan with Rack costs $79.95 on the same store, so the MultiClad adds $80.00. That cheaper pan lists 20.7 x 12 x 4.9 inches but no turkey weight. So it is not one of the six picks. For the bigger picture on stainless against other metals, see our guide to what each cookware material is actually for.
The All-Clad Stainless Steel Roasting Pan with Nonstick Rack comes in two sizes at Sur La Table. In the 14 x 11 inch size it is $129.96 and holds up to a 15-pound bird. The 16 x 13 inch size is $149.96 and holds up to 25 pounds. Sur La Table says that size includes a bonus whisk. The listing describes 18/10 stainless steel, a warp-resistant bonded base and a pan that is oven and broiler safe to 600°F. Capacity is etched on the base.
That is $9.99 less than the MultiClad for a pan Sur La Table rates seven pounds higher. However, the listing contradicts itself on cleaning. The care line says hand wash only, while the feature list says dishwasher safe. So hand wash it. Skip the MultiClad if your bird is over 18 pounds, because Cuisinart lists no higher ceiling.
Does a nonstick roasting pan hold up under a heavy bird?
The Cuisinart 17 x 13 Nonstick Roaster with V-Rack does, up to the 20 pounds Cuisinart states. Its page lists heavy steel construction and a removable nonstick V-rack. It also measures 19.1 x 14.1 x 5.9 inches and costs $59.95 at Cuisinart. The Use and Care guide rates it oven safe to 400°F, which clears the USDA’s 325°F minimum with room to spare.
The same guide sets the limits. However, never put the pan under the broiler, and do not run it through the dishwasher. It also advises plastic or wooden utensils, because forks, knives and whisks can scratch the surface and the rack. So carve on a board, not in the pan. If you need a new board for the job, our cutting board comparison reads each maker’s care page.
The Calphalon Hard Anodized Nonstick Roaster with Rack is the pricier nonstick option at $114.99 on Target. Target also lists it at 17.5 x 13.25 x 6.25 inches and oven safe to 450°F, with silicone handles. Still, the page gives no maker weight limit. Two Calphalon Consumer Care answers in the Q&A say a 20-pound turkey should fit, but those answers are not specifications. The price gap to the Cuisinart is $55.04.
So what does the extra $55.04 buy? Mostly a higher oven rating, a taller pan and a shorter warranty. Calphalon’s warranty page lists 10 years for its nonstick cookware, while Cuisinart promises a lifetime. Still, the Calphalon page excludes nonstick coating loss, and that is the usual way these pans wear out.
Can a budget roasting pan still do the job?
Yes, within its ceiling. The Cuisinart Chef’s Classic Stainless Steel Roaster with Non-Stick Rack is the stainless budget pan. Cuisinart lists the 15-inch model (7117-15NSR) at $69.95 and says it fits turkeys up to 16 pounds. Meanwhile, Target lists its version, 83117-15NSR, at $59.99, which is $9.96 under Cuisinart’s own price. Target rates the pan to 500°F and the nonstick rack to 400°F. So both clear the 325°F roasting floor.

The Granite Ware 18-Inch Oval Roaster with Cover is the cheapest pan here. Target lists it at $49.20, marked down from $60.00, and describes carbon steel with a porcelain enamel finish. The page says it is designed to hold up to 15 pounds of poultry with the lid on and up to 18 pounds without. It also lists 18 x 12.25 x 7.5 inches. The listing shows one piece, and no rack is mentioned.
Two things hold this pan back. First, Target’s page gives no oven temperature, and the Granite Ware brand page I found says only that its covered roasters withstand high temperatures. Second, you would need to buy a rack separately. So skip it if you want a rack in the box. For more cookware decisions, browse the Kitchen & Dining section.
What do the warranties and return windows cover?
Less than the headline words suggest. Each warranty below comes from the maker’s page. Each return window comes from the retailer where the pan was priced. The pattern is simple. Returns work only on unused pans, so the warranty is the only recourse once the turkey has been in the pan.
What does each maker promise and each store allow?
| Roasting pan, where priced | Maker warranty | Retailer return window | What to know |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cuisinart MultiClad Pro, at Cuisinart | Lifetime, for the original purchaser, against defects in material and workmanship under normal home use | 30 days for unused merchandise, full refund of the product price | Buyer pays return shipping. Refund takes about 10 business days after receipt. |
| All-Clad 16 x 13, at Sur La Table | Limited lifetime, per All-Clad’s warranty page, which links the full terms as a PDF | Up to 30 days from delivery to start a return, with receipt, new condition and original packaging | A $12.95 return shipping fee applies on shipments over $25 unless the item arrived damaged or defective. Clearance prices ending in 8 or 9 cents are final sale; $149.96 does not end that way. |
| Calphalon 16-inch roaster, at Target | 10 years for Calphalon nonstick cookware per its warranty page; Target lists a 10-year limited warranty | 90 days for most unopened items sold by Target | Excludes nonstick coating loss and dishwasher use. You ship the pan to Calphalon after getting an RMA number, and Calphalon pays the return. |
| Cuisinart 17 x 13 nonstick, at Cuisinart | Lifetime, same terms as above | 30 days, unused | Buyer pays return shipping. |
| Cuisinart 15-inch roaster, at Target | Lifetime, same terms. Applies to purchases from Cuisinart or an authorized reseller. | 90 days for most unopened items sold by Target | Warranty excludes normal wear, misuse and commercial use. |
| Granite Ware 18-inch, at Target | No warranty terms found on the brand page | 30 days, per the Target listing | The listing states 30 days, shorter than the 90 days Target gives most items it sells. |
Which return policy applies to an unused pan?
Cuisinart’s warranty page states the lifetime term runs for the original purchaser. It covers U.S. consumers who bought from Cuisinart or an authorized reseller. It also excludes normal wear, misuse and commercial use. Target’s own policy page gives 90 days for most unopened items it sells and 30 days for items from Target Plus partners. Sur La Table’s policy page also sets the 30-day window, and it asks for new condition.
Because a returned pan must be unused, test the fit early. Slide the empty pan in your own oven with the rack in. Then you can still send it back. We made the same argument about coatings in A Cheap Bakeware Set Costs More by Year Ten: a maker’s warranty is the best public clue to how long a coating lasts.
Are any of these roasting pans under a CPSC recall?
No. On October 18, 2026 I searched the Consumer Product Safety Commission’s SaferProducts.gov recall database for roasting pans, roasters and cookware, and for Cuisinart, All-Clad, Calphalon and Granite Ware. The database holds no roasting pan recall for any of those brands. Only two recent Cuisinart entries appear, and both are different products: Conair’s 2026 recalls of grill brushes and of the Propel+ gas grill. Check the CPSC recall list again the week you buy.
Does the turkey need a rack, and which kind?
Yes. The USDA’s guide says to place the turkey on a rack in a shallow roasting pan. A rack also lifts the bird out of its drippings and lets heat reach the underside. Five of the six picks include one. Here is the rack note for each pan:
- Cuisinart MultiClad Pro: listed “with Rack.” Cuisinart’s description of its roasting pans refers to solid stainless steel racks.
- All-Clad 16 x 13: removable V-shaped nonstick rack.
- Calphalon 16-inch: rack included, material not stated on the Target page.
- Cuisinart 17 x 13: removable nonstick V-rack, designed for heat circulation and fat drainage per Cuisinart.
- Cuisinart Chef’s Classic 15-inch: nonstick rack, rated to 400°F on Target’s page.
- Granite Ware 18-inch: no rack listed.

In practice, a V-rack cradles the bird and keeps the pan floor open for vegetables. Nonstick racks wear like any nonstick surface, so keep sharp tools off them. Also, store the rack inside the pan so the two stay together.
Will the pan fit my oven with the rack in?
Measure before you buy, because only one maker makes a fit claim. Cuisinart’s page for the 17 x 13 says the roaster fits in all standard-size ovens. However, the other pages publish no oven fit. The listed lengths run from 16 to 19.3 inches, the widths from 12 to 14.1 inches, and the heights from 5 to 7.5 inches.

Do three things at home. First, measure the open space between the oven’s side walls, since handles add inches that the pan’s listed length may or may not include. Second, measure the gap between the rack positions you plan to use, because a tall pan with the bird on top needs headroom. Then check that the door closes with the pan in. Also, the USDA recommends a shallow pan, so take the lower sides if you have a choice.
What do people ask about roasting pans for turkey?
How big a roasting pan do I need for a 15-pound turkey?
A pan of at least 15-3/4 x 12 x 3 inches. That is the minimum Anolon lists for a bird up to 16 pounds. Also, Cuisinart’s 15-inch Chef’s Classic roaster states a 16-pound ceiling. The USDA allows 1 pound of turkey per person, so a 15-pound bird feeds about 15 people.
What oven temperature should a turkey roast at in a roasting pan?
The USDA says to set the oven no lower than 325°F. A whole turkey is safe at a minimum internal temperature of 165°F, checked in the innermost part of the thigh and wing and the thickest part of the breast. The four pans here with a stated oven limit run from 400°F to 600°F, so none restricts you.
Should I add water to the pan?
It is optional. The USDA says you can add one-half cup of water to the bottom of the pan. If the pan has no lid, you can tent the turkey with heavy-duty foil for the first 1 to 1-1/2 hours to keep it moist and reduce splatter. Granite Ware’s roaster comes with a cover.
Can I make gravy in the pan on the stovetop?
In stainless, yes. Cuisinart lists the MultiClad as suitable for induction cooktops. For the nonstick Cuisinart roaster, the care guide says to cook on low to medium heat, never leave the pan empty over a hot burner, and use plastic or wooden utensils. Pour the drippings into a saucepan if you want to whisk.
Which roasting pan would I buy for Thanksgiving?
I would buy the Cuisinart 17 x 13 Nonstick Roaster with V-Rack at $59.95 for most Thanksgivings, because Cuisinart states a 20-pound ceiling. Its listed 14.1-inch width also clears the 13-inch tier, and the lifetime warranty costs nothing extra. The V-rack is in the box, so there is no second purchase.
For a bird over 20 pounds, I would pay $149.96 for the All-Clad Stainless Steel Roasting Pan with Nonstick Rack in the 16 x 13 size. Sur La Table also lists a 25-pound capacity and a 600°F rating. If gravy from the pan matters most, the stainless choice up to 18 pounds is the Cuisinart MultiClad Pro Triple Ply 16-Inch Roasting Pan with Rack at $159.95.

I would skip the Granite Ware 18-Inch Oval Roaster unless a rack is already in the drawer. The Calphalon at $114.99 makes sense only if the 10-year term and the 450°F rating matter to you. Still, its page states no weight limit. Whichever pan you choose, measure the oven first.
Prices are approximate, current as of publication, and change frequently — confirm the latest price with the retailer before buying.

